About WCCC


The Weston Creek Community Council (WCCC) is a forum for residents to convey concerns to government. It is non-party political and lobbies government and bureaucrats for services and facilities for the residents of Weston Creek. In fulfilling this role the WCCC acts on behalf of residents (or groups of residents) to take issue with the government. In many cases particular residents or groups wish to remain anonymous and the WCCC lobbies on their behalf.

The community council does not provide support services.

The WCCC was established following resident perception that they had no political voice in the legislative process in Canberra, Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and no means to bring political pressure onto decision makers.

It was temporarily established on 29 July 1991 and on 27 November 1991 a constitution was accepted at a public meeting and a committee elected. A revised constitution, to meet the new association’s ordinance, was adopted at a public meeting on 24 May 1995 and last updated in May 2005.

The current WCCC Committee is:

  • Chair: Tom Anderson
  • Deputy Chair: Pat McGinn
  • Secretary: Vacant
  • Treasurer: Chris Wilson
  • Committee Members: Max Kwiatkowski, Janice Paull, Jenny Adams and Shelby Schofield

A nomination form for the Committee is available here.

Weston Creek Community Council is an incorporated entity, registered in the Australian Capital Territory, Association (A2637) with the following constitution.

Download (PDF, 103KB)

Membership request is in accordance with Sections 6 and 7 (and the relevant Subsections) of the Council's Constitution (see above). There are three classes of membership:

  • Residents of Weston Creek who have voting rights (Section 6(2);
  • Persons who have an affinity to the Weston Creek district - classified as a non-voting member (Section 6(3)
    • Owner of a business based in Weston Creek;
    • A person employed in Weston Creek; or
    • Representative of a community organisation active in Weston Creek.

Membership is subject to approval by the Weston Creek Community Council committee

The Committee has determined that there is no fee for membership of the WCCC (Section 11). Membership is not capable of being transferred to another person (Section 8(1) (a)). Since there is no membership fee, members are not liable to contribute towards the liabilities of the WCCC (Section 13(1)).

All members of the committee are volunteers and do not receive payment for any activities.

You can join by clicking here.

The Weston Creek Community Council has a number of 'policies' which could be considered as principles. These principles have been developed over a number of years of active involvement in the community consultation processes involving; the Commonwealth Government, the ACT Legislative Assembly, ACT Public Servants and local residents.

Generally these polices / principles respect "the right of the individual" and "open and fair decision making".

  • Each person attending a WCCC meeting has the right to be heard.
  • Each person questioning a resident does so in a polite and respectful manner.
  • Guest Speakers are to be treated in a courteous and professional manner as they are normally representing their employer and are attending in their own time.
  • Decision-making on the use of community facilities in Weston Creek needs to be open, fair and transparent to allow innovative, new and appropriate use of limited community facilities.
  • ACT Government public servants are encouraged to attend but need to maintain confidentiality of information obtained in their work and respect their employer's rights to confidential information.
  • The rights of the individual are paramount and each person, through attending a meeting, contacting by phone, by fax or by email will be considered in a confidential manner and that confidentially will be maintained.
  • The WCCC will lobby on behalf of individuals and groups of individuals who wish to remain anonymous.
  • The WCCC recognises that there a limited number of volunteers in Weston Creek. Therefore conflict of interest is not an issue. WCCC Executive and WCCC Members are encouraged to become members of committees of various organisations in Weston Creek (and organisations who are active in Weston Creek) to advance the needs of Weston Creek residents.

logoThe Weston Creek Community Council logo was designed in 2006 by Barbara Brinton.

The 8 squares represent the 8 suburbs in geographic order according to map location: DUFFY, HOLDER, WESTON, RIVETT, STIRLING, WARAMANGA, CHAPMAN, FISHER

The square is a symbol of order, symmetry and reassurance. The spaces indicate discrete existence within a whole, ‘breathing space’. The missing square represents the ‘gaps’ which WCCC identifies and actions.

The logo is easy to remember therefore quickly identifiable. Helvetica lower case script was used because it is available on any electronic program, and is easy to read and reproduce (at that time). The colour of the logo is Black, which is inexpensive to reproduce. As a graphic item, squares are easy to reproduce, including in text form. The size of the logo can be varied for use on small items such as magnets, business cards, stationery, or shirt embroidery, or for large item such as huge banners. The whole design forms a rectangle, which is easy to adapt to any shaped item.

  • To Unsubscribe to our email lists please click the Unsubscribe at the bottom of your latest email
  • To UPDATE your details please click the 'Update subscription preferences' at the bottom of your latest email
  • To Subscribe to the Weston Creek Community Council general list for email updates and newsletters by using the following form ...

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed