Your local voice

weston creek
community
council

<u>www.weston</u>creek.org.au info@westoncreek.org.au PO Box 3701 Weston Creek ACT 2611 Phone: 0458 756 034

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING. WEDNESDAY, 27 OCTOBER 2021

MINUTES

Apologies, video of meeting was not able to be live streamed and or uploaded to the WCCC Facebook page due to technical issues.

Committee in attendance: Janice Paull, Bill Gemmell (WCCC Interim Chair), Michelle Bourdet, Michelle Weston. **MLAs in attendance**: Dr Marisa Paterson MLA **Apologies:** Emma Davidson MLA, Simone Hunter (Committee member), Liam Foley, Noel Tregonning, Dianne Terry

7:59 pm: CLOSE OF GENERAL MEETING. OPENING OF AGM

The Interim Chair, Bill Gemmell, opened the meeting at 7:59pm.

MINUTES of 25 November 2020, AGM

Moved: Rosemary Drabsch. Seconded: Michelle Bourdet. Carried: Yes Business arising from 25 November 2020 AGM: none

WCCC CHAIR REPORT - see also attached Chair's report

Some points:

- Tough year, fires, and smoke making it very difficult for people
- COVID also difficult, noting that Weston Creek community compliant with masks and restrictions
- Council and Committee renewal has been a focus over the past year
- A major focus for Council has been community involvement and consultation. Examples:
 - Floriade Community and planting was a success
 - Scarecrow competition was lots of fun
 - o Council has been involved in a number of DA matters
 - Recording of public meetings (apologies for lack of sound during this meeting. Video will be uploaded and made available)
 - Resident concerns raised have included: green spaces, air quality, law and order and pedestrian safety
 - o Fetherston Gardens a great asset but could be better utilised with public toilets
- Council appreciates the regular attendance of the Murrumbidgee MLAs
- Chair thanked the volunteers who help throughout the year
- Chair thanked outgoing committee members:
 - Chair acknowledged and thanked the guidance and assistance of Janice Paull, particularly as Treasurer
 - Chair thanked Shelby Schofield, particularly her skill and assistance with submissions

FROM THE FLOOR:

- Acknowledgement of thanks Tom Anderson (previous Chair), Bill Gemmell (Interim Chair), and the WCCC Committee
- Thank you for keeping Council going, applause from the floor.

■ Established 1991 ■ ABN: 52 841 915 317 ■ Weston Creek Community Council Inc. ■ Reg. no. AO 2637 The Weston Creek Community Council receives support and funding from the ACT Government. **TREASURER REPORT.** See also attached Treasurer's report. Some points:

- Report given for the last financial year.
- The accounts audited were considered to be a true and fair view of the accounts of WCCC with no issues.
- Expenditure from Deed of Grant outlined
- Weston Creek Community Centre hire has been a cost but beneficial as the venue can accommodate more people and is better for those with mobility concerns
- Subscriptions and operating costs of Council have increased
- Floriade in the burbs was successful

FETHERSTON GARDENS REPORT: See also attached Convenor's report. Some points:

- Gardens are on Heysen Street
- Volunteers have been working on the gardens for 11 years and are back gardening after the easing of restrictions from COVID
- Aim has always been to restore the gardens to original beauty, restore and plant
- Recently successful with a grant to replant natives along Heysen Street
- Fetherston Gardens has an active committee
- Some concerning issues with theft and unsupervised dogs
- Convenor thanked the volunteers and the Committee

ELECTIONS:

The Interim Chair, Bill Gemmell, stood aside and handed over to Ms. Fiona Carrick (President, Woden Community Council) for elections of a new committee.

Ms. Carrick thanked the committee and positions spilled.

- Nominations were read out, with no contested positions.
- Nominations and Declarations for 2021/22 Weston Creek Community Council Committee
- The 2021/22 WCCC Committee will be:

Chair: Bill Gemmell	Ordinary committee member: Liam Foley
Secretary: Michelle Bourdet	Ordinary committee member Louise Hughes (Fetherston Gardens subcommittee)
Treasurer: not filled, declared vacant	Ordinary committee member: Lesley Pattinson (Fetherston Gardens subcommittee)
Ordinary committee member: Michelle Weston	Ordinary committee member: Diana Terry
Ordinary committee member: Mark Boast	Ordinary committee member: Simone Hunter

Ms. Carrick declared all nominees elected, wished them well, and then stood down. Bill Gemmell commenced the role of Chair.

New Chair comments: Bill Gemmell, thanked outgoing committee and advised that he was looking forward to an exciting new year with a new committee. Thanked people for attending.

Meeting closed: 8:38pm